Web Sites forWomen and Gender in the US

General History Sites
 The History Channel: http://www.historychannel.com/
 American Memory from Library of Congress: http://rs6.loc.gov/amhome.html
The History Net:  http://www.historynet.com/
WPA Life Histories:  http://lcweb2.loc.gov/wpaintro/wpahome.html
 American National Biography: http://www.anb.org/biooftheday.html

African American Sites
 American Slave Narratives: http://xroads.virginia.edu/~HYPER/wpa/wpahome.html
 The Book: A Black History Website: http://www.blackhistory.com/
 African American Pamphlets: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aap/aaphome.html
 African American Women: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/african-american-women.html
 African American Women: http://www.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women/wh-afam.html
 African American Women Links: http://www.nwhp.org/tlp/links/links.html#africana
 Narrative of Sojourner Truth: http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/truth/1850/1850.html

Women's History Sites
 Women's Herstory: http://www.edchange.org/multicultural/sites/womenhist.html
 Women's History Resources:   http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/hist.htm
 American Women's History: A Research Guide:   http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html
 National Women's History Project: http://www.nwhp.org/
 Women and Gender Project: http://www.lib.utsa.edu/Archives/WomenGender/
 Distinguished Women of Past and Present: http://www.distinguishedwomen.com/
 Godey's Lady Book Online: http://www.history.rochester.edu/godeys
 Women in America 1820-1842: http://xroads.virginia.edu/~hyper/detoc/fem/home.htm
 Schlesigner Library: http://www.radcliffe.edu/schles/
 National Women's History Project Links: http://www.nwhp.org/
 University of Pennsylvania Library: Women's Studies:  http://www.sas.upenn.edu/wstudies/links.html
 The World's Women On-Line!: http://wwol.inre.asu.edu/

Civil War and World War Sites
American Civil War Homepage: http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/
Civil War Women: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/scriptorium/civil-war-women.html
Civil War Women--Primary Sources: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/cwdocs.html
Military Women Veterans-Yesterday-Today-Tomorrow: http://userpages.aug.com/captbarb/
Military Women Homepage: http://militarywoman.org/
Women Come to the Front (WW II): http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/wcf/wcf0001.html
Women's Military History: http://www.undelete.org/military.html
Swarthmore College Peace Collection: http://www.swarthmore.edu/Library/peace

Women's Suffrage Sites
 NAWSA (Votes for Women): http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/naw/nawshom.html
 Woman Suffrage and the Nineteenth Amendment:http://www.nara.gov/education/teaching/woman/home.html
 Susan B. Anthony: http://www.history.rochester.edu/class/sba/first.htm
 inforM Women's Studies: Government and Politics:   http://www.inform.umd.edu/EdRes/Topic/WomensStudies/ReadingRoom/History/

Regional Sites on Women
 Southern and Women's History Sites:  http://campus.murraystate.edu/academic/faculty/Karen.Cox/Southernwom.htm
 Southern Women: http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women/wh-south.html
 Making It Their Own: Women in the West:  http://www.library.csi.cuny.edu/westweb/pages/women.html

H-Net Sites
 H-SAWH (Southern Association for Women Historians): http://www.h-net.msu.edu/~sawh/
 H-Women: http://www.h-net.msu.edu/~women/
 

Last updated 10 June 2005

RETURN TO HOME PAGE
RETURN TO HIST 221 SYLLABUS
RETURN TO HIST 410 SYLLABUS